Self Important Rambling: A Grim Proclamation

30 Apr
I’m still not entirely convinced that the widespread supposed adoration for this show isn’t ironic. I’m not convinced that even the people who are a part of the phenomenon know whether it’s ironic.
And so this is it. The postmodern apocalypse. An entire generation of growing or grown men and women is worshipping a little kids’ show and we’re all so deeply indoctrinated in the cult of irony that nobody knows what’s even ironic anymore. Western culture is over. Now we are all bronies.

– From a post (by me) on Evageeks

7 Responses to “Self Important Rambling: A Grim Proclamation”

  1. Tarnsman May 2, 2012 at 4:33 PM #

    The best comparison for the current iteration of My Little Pony I can come up with would be GaoGaiGar. GaoGaiGar, while originally aimed at children, attracted a following of older Super Robot fans that just wanted to watch a fun show about robots beating stuff up. Enough so that the show actually started catering to those fans. (Much like everything past the first couple of episodes of Friendship is Magic.) From what I can gather MLP is nostalgic of older cartoon network shows that I wasn’t fortunate enough to watch growing up.

    • gatotsu2501 May 2, 2012 at 4:56 PM #

      I more get the impression that the MLP:FIM phenomenon is reminiscent of the, uh, “development” of the magical girl genre: It started out as a completely innocuous fantasy for little girls, then found an unexpected audience of older men (and manchildren) who twisted it into something it wasn’t originally meant to be. At least MLP doesn’t (yet) have its Nanoha.

      • Tarnsman May 2, 2012 at 5:06 PM #

        I was referring to the fact that MLP:FIM it’s made by the same person who made Dexter’s Lab and the various other often praised 90s and early 2000 cartoons that used to define Cartoon Network.

    • gatotsu2501 May 2, 2012 at 5:59 PM #

      What? Genndy Tartakovsky? He didn’t have any involvement with MLP:FIM whatsoever, at least according to Wikipedia.

      • Tarnsman May 2, 2012 at 6:04 PM #

        I thought Lauren Faust had something to do with Dexter’s Lab, I was apparently wrong. That’s what I get for not having a childhood.

    • gatotsu2501 May 2, 2012 at 5:59 PM #

      Also I hope you watched the video.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Which Ross Douthat Distills the Religion Debate Down to 39 Seconds « TAFKA (The Artist Formerly Known As) - September 14, 2012

    […] contrary to certain labels I may use, I try not to make posts just to complain about things (My Little Pony fans notwithstanding). This is more about something I actually LIKE – or rather, someONE. I initially discovered […]

Leave a Reply

